Showing 3 results

Archival description
SubSubSub Fonds
Advanced search options
Print preview Hierarchy View:

Secretary/Director/Executive Director/Chief Executive

The Secretary was the administrative head of the Society. The first was William Shipley and other secretaries included Peter Templeman, Samuel More, Charles Taylor, John Scott Russell, Peter Le Neve Foster, Sir Henry Trueman Wood, Kenneth Luckhurst, George Mercer and Christopher Lucas. The title was changed to Director in 1994; in 2003 the title was changed to Executive Director and in 2006 to Chief Executive.\n\nSeries includes general correspondence and papers from the 1950s to 1990s; earlier material can be found with AD.MA/100\n\n\n

Governance Committees

From 1754, all administrative matters were discussed at general meetings of the Society. The Council was established in 1845 although Society minutes continue until 1924.\nSeries includes bound volumes of minutes of the Society (1754-1924) and of Council (1846 to date), general administrative correspondence to the Society and printed copies of charters and amendments, bye-laws and other rules and regulations

Accounts and Finance

Financial administration of the Society has rested with various committees including Committees of , later as a Finance sub-committee, then a Finance and General Purposes Committee. The Society is a registered charity.\n\nRecords include minutes of the committees, various account books and ledgers, bills, receipts and invoices and general correspondence and papers